Notre Dame and Stamps Foundation Expand Partnership

Author: Shannon Rooney


University of Notre Dame

The University of Notre Dame welcomes 11 undergraduate Stamps Scholars to the Class of 2020, marking an expansion of the partnership between Notre Dame and the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation. The partnership began in 2013, with the admission of five scholars each year since. The prestigious scholarship awards have now doubled to allow twice as many students per year to benefit from the scholarship.

“Notre Dame is thrilled to affirm and expand our partnership with the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation. With our incoming group of 11, we will be home to a total of 27 Stamps Scholars next fall. We are incredibly enthusiastic about this development,” said Mark Seamon, director of merit scholar programs at Notre Dame.

The Stamps Family Charitable Foundation, established in 1986 by Penny and Roe Stamps, sponsors multi-year merit scholarships at 41 institutions across the United States with the goal of helping exceptional students become meaningful leaders throughout society. Stamps Scholars are among the recipients of other prestigious awards, including Rhodes, Fulbright, Goldwater, Marshall and National Science Foundation scholarships.

The Stamps Family Charitable Foundation and partner schools share the costs of the awards, which at Notre Dame cover scholars’ tuition and fees, as well as an enrichment fund for expenses related to experiences such as conferences and travel.

Stamps Family Charitable Foundation

By more than doubling its sponsorship of Notre Dame students, the Stamps Foundation is providing a greater number of undergraduates with the opportunity to study at Notre Dame. “We’re very proud to partner with Notre Dame to provide Stamps Scholarships to exceptional students. Beginning this year, we’re delighted to increase our support of the University by expanding our annual cohort size. This is an exciting time for Stamps Scholars at Notre Dame,” said Annie Stamps, vice president of the Stamps Family Charitable Foundation.

The Class of 2020 Notre Dame Stamps Scholars include Trevor Canty of Billings, Montana; James Drysdale of Saint Albans, Missouri; Christopher Foley of Glencoe, Missouri; Mary Katherine Hieatt of Cordova, Tennessee; David Korzeniowski of Sudbury, Massachussetts; Yanting “Raven” Luo of Shanghai; Love Osunnuga of Granger, Indiana; Rasika Sant of Saint Louis, Missouri; Grace Schippers of Olathe, Kansas; Brendan Woods of Rockaway Park, New York; and Christina Zoldak of Peabody, Massachusetts.

Contact: Mark Seamon, director, Merit Scholar Programs, 574-631-5086,

Originally published by Shannon Rooney at on June 27, 2016.