Ten Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants Arrive at the University of Notre Dame

Author: Anne Daly


Notre Dame FLTAs explore South Bend with city native Shiori Eleanor Hughes (back row, second from left). Top row left to right : Eman ElWardany (Egypt), Shiori (Eleanor) Hughes (South Bend, IN), Yen-Chen Huang (Taiwan), Siobhán Ní Mhuimhneacháin (Ireland), Oksana Glazkova (Russia) Bottom row left to right : Anna Paula Cury (Brazil), Eric Munsch (France)

Ten Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistants (FLTAs) from countries ranging from France to Egypt have been awarded grants to teach and take courses at the University of Notre Dame for academic year 2016-17.   While in the United States, they will share their language and culture with U.S. communities to inspire Americans to travel and study overseas and to make U.S. citizens better prepared to engage with businesses, governments, and organizations abroad. The FLTAS at Notre Dame for 2016-2017 are:

  1. Siobhán Ní Mhuimhneacháin – Ireland
  2. Eman ElWardany – Egypt
  3. Eric Munsch – France
  4. Daniel Fastlabend – Germany
  5. Heemang Kim – S. Korea
  6. Anna Paula Cury – Brazil
  7. Oksana Glazkova – Russia
  8. Akiyo Horiguchi – Japan
  9. Laureen Owaga – Kenya
  10. Yen-Chen Huang – Taiwan

These ten are from a group of nearly 400 young educators from 50 countries who will travel to the United States in the 2016-2017 academic year through the Fulbright FLTA Program to help internationalize U.S. colleges and universities, a key goal of many institutions as they prepare students for the 21st century workforce and globalized world. Recipients of Fulbright FLTA grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential.  Fulbright FLTA scholarships are awarded by the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

In the coming year, grant recipients from East Asia and the Pacific; Europe and Eurasia; the Middle East and North Africa; South and Central Asia; and Sub-Saharan Africa will contribute to U.S. students’ foreign language acquisition in more than 30 languages at over 200 U.S. institutions. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State. Participating governments, universities, corporations, and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support.

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The Fulbright Program has given approximately 360,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.  Since 2001, more than 4,000 Fulbright awardees have been Fulbright FLTAs.

Fulbright FLTA recipients are among over 50,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. The Fulbright FLTA Program is administered by the Institute of International Education.

For further information about the Fulbright FLTA Program, contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, telephone 202-632-6452 or e-mail ECA-Press@state.gov. Or visit:



Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and many other fields.  Fifty-three Fulbright alumni from 13 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 82 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; Juan Manuel Santos, President of Colombia; John Hope Franklin, noted American historian and Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, founder, Bose Corporation; Renée Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, writer; and Daniel Libeskind, architect.

Press Release by Fulbright

Contact: Press Office, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs

Telephone: 202-632-6452

Originally published by Anne Daly at cslc.nd.edu on August 25, 2016.