Two engineering graduate students awarded Amman Fellowships

Author: Allison Preston

Two graduate students in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences (CEEES)Evan Gerbo and Karen Angeles — have been awarded the American Society of Civil Engineers Structural Engineering Institute O.H. Ammann Research Fellowship. The award is presented to students who encourage new knowledge in the structural design and construction fields.


Angeles’ research is through the Structural DYNAmics and MOnitoring (DYNAMO) laboratory with Associate Pofessor Tracy Kijewski-Correa, the Leo E.  and Patti Ruth Linebeck Collegiate Chair, nd Associate Professor Alexandros Taflanidis, the Frank M. Freimann Collegiate Chair in Structural Engineering, focusing on life-cycle analyses that enable the development of resilient and sustainable buildings. Angeles’ goal is to help integrate the tools utilized by engineers and architects so that design decisions can take sustainability and resiliency more fully into consideration. For more information on her work, particularly as it relates to the Fellowship, click here.


Gerbo is researching new opportunities for rapidly erectable steel structural systems through an adjustable connection under the direction of Ashley Thrall, the Myron and Rosemary Noble Associate Professor of Structural Engineering. This research is supported by Thrall’s National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Program Award. Ted Zoli, national bridge chief engineer with HNTB Corporation, is also providing valuable industry guidance on the project. Click here for details on Gerbo’s project.

Past CEEES recipients include Megan McCullough in 2012, Sarah Bobby and Teng Wu in 2013, Ravi Kiran Yellavajjala in 2014, and Andrew Bartolini and Maria Gibbs in 2015. Ph.D. student.


Originally published by Nina Welding at on April 11, 2018.