Christensen Named Editor-in-chief of Measurement Science and Technology

Author: Nina Welding


Kenneth T. Christensen, the Collegiate Professor of Fluid Mechanics and assistant dean of faculty development in the College of Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, has been named the editor-in-chief for Measurement Science and Technology (MST) beginning on January 1, 2017. He will combine this new position with the role of regional editor for the Americas for the journal.

Launched in 1923, MST is an Institute of Physics journal, the first focused on scientific instrumentation and measurement, and covering all aspects of theory, practice, and application of measurement, instrumentation, and sensing across science and engineering. The journal’s long-standing visibility in the area of fluid mechanics measurements overlaps well with Christensen’s expertise in experimental fluid mechanics.

With a joint faculty appointment between the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences, Christensen’s research focuses on turbulence interactions with complex topography encountered in a range of engineering systems, flow interactions and coupling with complex bedforms that form and evolve in both aeolean and subaqueous natural environments, and multi-phase flow within heterogeneous porous media with application to geologic carbon dioxide sequestration.  

In addition to his service with MST, he serves as associate editor for the Journal of Visualization and on the editorial board of Experiments in Fluids. He is also a fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), as well as an associate fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Most recently, Christensen was named the recipient of the 2016 Gustus L. Larson Memorial Award by the ASME for outstanding achievements in mechanical engineering between 10 and 20 years after graduation. He has also received the 2006 AFOSR Young Investigator Award, a 2007 National Science Foundation CAREER Award, the 2011 Francois Frenkiel Award for Fluid Mechanics from the APS Division of Fluid Dynamics, and the 2012 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he served as professor, Kritzer Faculty Scholar, and associate head for undergraduate and mechanics programs in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering prior to joining the Notre Dame faculty in 2014.

Originally published by Nina Welding at on July 20, 2016.