Scott Carmichael receives 2023 Lamm Award

Author: Janet Weikel

Scott Carmichael

Scott Carmichael is the recipient of the 2023 Larry O. Lamm Memorial Award in Nuclear Physics. The award recognizes Scott's work and dedication to the Nuclear Science Laboratory, with his involvement in all stages of the Enge split-pole installation and commissioning which will become a major resource for ongoing research. Scott has also been instrumental in the communication of Nuclear Science through his ongoing efforts in outreach and education, dedicating his time to the inspiration of the next generation of young scientists.    

Dr. Lamm was a 1989 PhD graduate from our program and in 1994 joined the nuclear group as a Research Professor. His work in the Nuclear Science Laboratory as technical director was instrumental in expanding the laboratory to its current size, and striving to reach new heights in nuclear astrophysics.

Originally published by Janet Weikel at on April 21, 2023.